A/N: Whoa, another story? Yup, I’ve been feeling pretty down today so I wanted to write my pain away. I can’t say if this is a regular thing or not. Just that I can’t let myself feel so down all the time. Plus, I need to keep writing if I want to get any better at it. Anyhow, here’s another-but unrelated to the previous-short story. With this one, I just shot out the first sentence in my head and carried on with what to write next. I got pretty far with this one. I kinda like the idea I created too.

Some magical drabble

Ravenclawatheart

“It’s not uncommon to feel scared. Especially if it’s your first time.” Jordan smirks and raises her eyebrows. While offering a fake look of sympathy she pats Gabrielle on the shoulders. Gabrielle snatches her shoulder back and gives a defiant look to her elder.

“I never said I was afraid!” she scoffs. Gabrielle shakes back her blonde hair and crosses her arms. She continues, “I’m just amazed that someone like you would even consider this to be scary. Have something to hide there? I mean just because you were scared, doesn’t mean everyone else would be.” Gabrielle turns to face the rest of the coven as they snicker behind Jordan’s back. Jordan’s face falls flat when she overhears Molly whisper something to her elder. She straightens her posture, and purses her lips. Determined not to show any weakness to the rest of the group.

“I’m just trying to look out for you.” She retorts

Gabrielle resists the urge to roll her eyes, “Riiight. Just like how you left me in the mountains last week. How could you look out for me when you were all the way at the bottom of the mountain!” Jordan opens her mouth to respond when Miss Karen waves her hand at Jordan and silences her.

“Whenever you’re ready Gabrielle.” She offers a sweet and encouraging smile.

Gabrielle walks straight to the pot and grabs the knife. While muttering an incantation she firmly grips the dagger in front of her and slashes her hand while watching the blood pool around her cut and slowly trickle down into the simmering pot of potion. She peers down to watch the potion slowly transform from blue with a faint fragrance of lavender and berries to a vibrant shade of purple and a subtle hint of a metallic smell. The potion begins to radiate a soft glow; Gabrielle pulls her hand away from the pot and turns off the burner. Without any hesitation, she blows on her cut hand and watch the skin reattach. With a satisfied smile, she pours the potion into a vile to present to the coven.

She turns her attention to the coven to find everyone gaping at her. Gabrielle’s eyes widen and she frowns.

“What? Did I do it wrong?” She grips the vile closer to her chest.

Miss Karen steps forward. “No sweetheart. It wasn’t that. It’s just…” She pauses, wondering how to word it to Gabrielle.

“How’d you do that without reading the book!” Molly interrupts.

“Yeah, first years can’t complete that without even a glance at the book.” Another girl adds. Almost all at once, everyone starts muttering and throwing one question after another.

“Did she cheat?”

“No you dimwit, you can’t cheat a potion! She must be possessed.”

“I don’t hear a hum! A telepath must be telling her what to do.”

“Who would want to do that? Besides, only Jordan can do that.”

Everyone’s attention turns to Jordan who’s still trying to process what she’s seen. Miss Karen turns to Jordan and asks, “Jordan, did you help Gabrielle with the potion?” Jordan’s eyes widen and she stands defensively.

“No! Why would I want to help her?”

Molly frowns. “You did say you were looking after her.” The coven almost nods in unison.

Jordan shakes her head. “I wasn’t going to cheat for her. Maybe give her a pep talk but not tell her what to do.” She snaps. “Miss Karen, you know I wouldn’t do that. I’m a hard working student and cheating would tarnish my reputation.”

Miss Karen nods her head. “I know Jordan, I trust you.” She reassures her. Miss Karen turns to Gabrielle. “But how did you know what to do Gabrielle?”

Gabrielle’s heart races and her ears burn when she finds everyone’s attention facing her. She begins speaking so fast, she can barely think about what she’s saying. “I-it just came to me. Like I knew what I had to say. I didn’t really give it much thought. I’m sorry, I didn’t know that would be a problem.” She winces, waiting for Miss Karen to scold her or worse, send her away. Gabrielle can feel pulses of fear emitting from some of the witches. Who could possibly want a witch with such a freakish ability? She glances at the younger witches and sees them bunching up closer to one another, ready to flee if needed.

“You’re not in trouble Gabrielle and we wouldn’t expel someone with an ability like yours.” Miss Karen answers. “We teach lots of girls with different abilities, and yours is no different. It’s, unusual, but not different from what we’ve seen. I’ll have a word with the committee and see if we can modify the exam for you.” Before Gabrielle could thank her, she darts out of the tent.

The tension in the tent immediately diffuses when Illiana breaks away from the group and faces Jordan. She laughs. “Well, look who’s the elder now Jordy! It’s her first test and Gabrielle’s already surpassed you.” She sneers. “She really knocked you into your place. It’s comical when you think of it.” She turns her attention to Gabrielle and claps. “I applaud you, newbie. Really, it’s about time someone stops Jordan dead in her tracks.”

The rest of the coven explodes with noise and everyone immediately begins muttering to one another.

Gabrielle winces and fidgets nervously with her vile. She really wishes everyone would stop talking about her. She peers over to Jordan to find her clenching her teeth and scowling at her classmate Illiana.

Why can’t we get along like Molly does with her elder? She asks herself.

Immediately, Jordan shoots her gaze to Gabrielle and throws a cold stare.

You know why! She mentally hisses a fiery response to her sister.

2 thoughts on “When life gets you down, WRITE! (Another short story)

Leave a Reply

